Definition – What does Remote Wipe mean?

Fundamentally it is a system capability or software solution where an administrator has the ability to remotely delete and destroy data on a device or system. Remote erase features are often part of comprehensive data security management systems that address data breach issues introduced by bring your own device (BYOD) policies or security gaps in distributed company computing networks.

DriveStrike explains Remote Wipe

Data wipe is the deleting and destruction of stored data on a device using mobile technologies in the context of mobile device management. Other kinds of data wipes, like an enterprise wipe, imply different data deletion strategies and methods to accomplish mobile security. Whether you are protecting a phone or tablet or a laptop that is lost or stolen such as Android devices, iOS devices, or Windows mobile phones make sure you are setting up remote wipe before they go missing so that you can properly protect personal data and company data because once a device is lost you cannot wipe devices or deploy endpoint management easily.

When a remote erase command is executed, personal information data deletion is triggered from a remote system endpoint or control panel. Enterprise wipe can be set up in different ways. The remote delete command can target company specific data or erase all data on a device. In most data breach incidents, the operation is optimized to provide quick and effective solutions to security breaches or other information crises.

Data and device wipe is extremely useful when a device or system is being hijacked or an unauthorized access occurs allowing device administrators to easily initiate a factory reset that restores factory settings within the admin center. You may wonder what is remotely locate command and is lock or erase better? Many business personnel prefer an alternative when dealing with lost devices, known as a remote lock (lock screen), where information remains on the device or system but access is prevented. Using remote lock (versus a wipe), those in charge of a system do not automatically lose all of their data but we suggest that a delete data operation is more prudent. Either one of these security features is extremely helpful, when a mobile device is stolen, or when administrators determine that a bad actor is stealing information through a USB flash drive or other resources.

When a device is lost or stolen you want to wipe data as quickly and easily as possible so that personal information on mobile phones, tablets, PCs, and laptops is protected by device administrators. Often if your personal data is encrypted a quick wipe can be executed by restoring factory settings many mobile device management and mobile security offerings employ this strategy. If you already have a device manager and mobile device management solution for your Android devices and or iOS devices please make sure you have a good BYOD Policy in place.

Sign Up Now For a Free 7 Day Trial